The NEPAD/APRM Kenya Secretariat led by the Chief Executive Officer, Amb. Dr. Samori Okwiya alongside the Panel of Eminent Persons of the County Peer Review Mechanism (CPRM) led by (Rtd) Archbishop Eliud Wabukhala, former Chairperson Ethics and Anti- Corruption Commission are undertaking the validation of the County Self-Assessment Reports in 12 counties (Mombasa, Siaya, Machakos, Nyeri, Kakamega, Elgeyo – Marakwet, Trans- Nzoia, Bungoma, Vihiga, Makueni, Nandi and Busia.)

The process commenced with an invitation to the counties to conduct their governance self- assessments (as duty bearers) after which the Secretariat conducted Focus Group Discussions (FGDs) and (KIIs) with a multiplicity of state and non-state stakeholders, including ordinary wananchi (as rights holders or recipients of the services) in the 12 aforementioned Counties.

This later led to the generation of the consolidated County Self-Assessment Reports; a comprehensive document that provides details regarding a county’s operations, performance, and achievements against each of the 14 devolved functions. County Peer Review Mechanism is a voluntary, governance assessment tool that mirrors the continental African Peer Review Mechanism (APRM) and enables counties to identify, address challenges and share best practices                       in                        their                                      governance        systems. This initiative a first in the African continent where sub-national governments peer review each other with the objective of enhancing service delivery performance across the country.


Amb. Dr. Samori Okwiya, CEO, NEPAD/APRM Kenya Secretariat engaging citizens from Kieni East and Kieni West Sub-counties in Nyeri County  

The County Peer Reviews are pitched at the level of Governors in a process that mirrors the African Peer Reviews where Heads of State and Government peer-review each other. The 12 Governors will be peer-reviewed in this first phase and another 12 will be invited after the June 2024 CPRM National Summit at which the 47 governors and the Presidency will participate.

The Eminent Personalities are volunteers and their primary mandate is to lend integrity, objectivity and credibility to the reviews and ensure that they remain people-centred and responsive to the needs of the citizens. The Panel comprises of; (Rtd) Archbishop Eliud Wabukhala, former Chairperson Ethics and Anti-Corruption Commission, Prof. Olive Mugenda, Chairperson of the Board of Directors at the Kenyatta University Teaching Referral and Research Hospital, Amb. Rukia Subow, Former Kenya Ambassador to Iran Former Chairperson Maendeleo ya Wanawake, Amb. Dr. John Kakonge, President of the Association of Former International Civil Servants and former Kenya ambassador to Geneva, Dr. Josephine Kulea, Founder of Samburu Girls Foundation, Dr. Wanjiru Kamau, Founder, President and CEO of Africa Immigrants and Refugees Foundation, Dr. Hassan Bashir, Executive Director, Agent for Inclusive Insurance Development, Mr. Pete Ondeng, former CEO, NEPAD/APRM Kenya Secretariat and Mr. Salesa Adano Abudo, Commissioner, Teachers Service Commission.

See more photos and Links to aired articles on the engagements below:

Write a Comment

Your email address will not be published.